Hello there! I have a lot to update everyone on (including a wonderful trip to Nicaragua- one of the best whirlwind trips/vacations I've had in a long time- and a beautiful horseback ride to warm springs here in Monteverde). I wrote the below blog entry 3 weeks ago, and didn’t get a chance to post it due to wonky internet (literally stops working at least 10 times a day daily at work) & a crazy schedule (I am basically the Manager AND the Program Coordinator of my dept). Anyways, thinking of you all always! I wrote this when I was feeling pretty homesick (July & August were pretty hard months adjusting here not just from the US but from the very different culture that is found in Nica that I was expecting here, along with feeling like I didn't really have much of a social support system). Things are definitely getting better now, but as always in life it's multi-layered. Here's the delayed blog from weeks ago:
Well, this past Friday was Mother’s Day in Costa Rica. Here, Mother’s Day is a national holiday which equals a long weekend. I had plans to go to the beach (on the Caribbean side), but sadly I went to the clinic instead (hence the title of this post)! I was sure I had an ear infection because my ears were throbbing, but it turns out that I had/have a respiratory infection instead that came on super quickly. I’m on strong antibiotics....but they are helping a lot! I slept/watched a bunch of movies all weekend and drank tons of tea. Even though I was coughing/weak and felt feverish, there are worse ways to spend the weekend. The doctor I saw said that sinus/respiratory problems are really common here because of the colder, rainy mountain climate, whereas in Nicaragua most of the illness is all stomach related because of food/water.
Last weekend, I went to the Quaker meeting they have at the Friend’s School in Monteverde every Sunday. Even though Quakers are Christian, they are also very secular-friendly. Basically the meeting is singing songs about love/friendship (very Quaker-y), then sitting in silence for an hour. At the end of the silence, someone reads their “manifesto” for lack of a better word, which basically talks about thinking of other people and not being trapped in our own egotism and being kind, then every one says good morning to each other. I thought it would be hard to do this, but it actually was really enjoyable and way easier than the meditation weekend I did with my mom in Santa Cruz (fun but very challenging with hours and hours of meditation). I’m usually filled with stress at the beginning of a week here but I felt so relaxed the next day, and it was definitely the most unique form of worship I’ve seen.
That Sunday I also walked to the radio towers on the hill above my house with a friend. It was about 45 minutes uphill, but worth the beautiful view. It was pretty cloudy in most parts, but I’ve been told that on a clear day you can see all the way to Arenal (the volcano that is about 4 hours away driving).
Yesterday, a random Japanese man studying tourism (name: Yosushi....yum!) interviewed me about our volunteer programs at the school. It was the first time I’ve ever been interviewed so I felt pretty fancy. He didn’t speak English so we both spoke in Spanish, which I thought must have looked pretty funny. He was surprised I was younger than he thought on the phone, and I couldn’t tell if that bothered him or just shocked him. At the end he presented me with a fancy pen and paid for my tea. See? Fancy!
I still get lonely here, but I think it’s been really good to have my own space. It’s kind of forced me to be comfortable with my own company and confront what I don’t like about myself or what I would like to change, and made me appreciate the company of other people more. I also like the down time, being so busy at work. Seeing other people here with their families has really made me realize that I would like to have kids and a partner some day, and I’m starting to feel a little more nervous about whether or not this will happen. I’ve never really thought at length about it because that’s never been a huge focus for me (and to be honest when I have thought about it, I’ve thought mainly about all the challenges and tragedies that can happen), but it’s been really refreshing and inspiring to see people move down here with their kids and live so bravely. One of my favorite coworkers here moved here from Chicago with her husband and 3 kids, and I love spending time with them (even though I know they have conflict in their family like everyone does). I always appreciated traveling with my parents when I was younger, and it’s nice to be reminded of the benefits of that close company, especially after being somewhat disturbed about how common adultery is here. Depending on who you talk to, machismo is either alive and well here or doesn’t exist. Usually it’s the men that take the second stance, but I happen to agree most with the first (although it’s not common in everyone).
We’re pretty isolated up here from everything else going on in the world, which is a gift and also a challenge. Growing up here could be amazingly liberating (with all the space and room to explore) and also really stifling (i.e. wanting to be around more diversity racially, or exposed to more opportunities). I guess with everything there are pros and cons, but I think it takes a very specific type of person to live here long-term, and I’m not really sure I’m that person. I don’t think that’s necessarily a good or bad thing, but it’s just interesting to think about.
I hope everyone is enjoying their summer wherever it may be! I’m including some photos of where I’m living. It’s simple and rustic with no phone/internet/tv and I’m pretty sure there is a creature living on my roof dangerously close to the electrical wire, BUT.... I like it. Lots of love to you all!
No comments:
Post a Comment